Review: The Temptation of Lila and Ethan

Posted on Updated on

image

Genre: Contemporary romance

Audience: new adult

received: thank you to netgalley and Forever(Grand Central Publishing) for providing me with this book on a read for review basis.

Goodreads Blurb:

On the surface, Lila Summers is flawless: good looks, expensive clothes, and a big, beautiful smile. But a dark past and even darker secrets are threatening to bubble over her perfect façade. She’ll do anything to keep the emptiness inside hidden-which leads her into situations that always end badly. Whenever she hits bottom, there’s only one person who’s there to pull her out: Ethan Gregory.

Ethan set the rules a long time ago: he and Lila are just friends. He doesn’t do relationships. Although his tattooed, bad boy exterior is a far cry from Lila’s pretty princess image, Ethan can’t deny they have a deeper connection than he’s used to. If he’s not careful, he could be in serious danger of becoming attached-and he’s learned the hard way that attachment only leads to heartbreak.

When Lila falls farther than she ever has before, can Ethan continue to help as a friend? Or is he also getting close to falling . . . for her?

My rating: 5 stars

image

My Review:

Heartbreakingly beautiful! Jessica Sorensen has once again delivered us with a book that has the ability to tug at anyone’s heartstrings. The author has wonderful gift, no matter what she writes about she manages to draw the reader in and wrap them up in the characters personalities and difficult lives. This is a deeply emotional book which shows the characters true feelings and is not scared to address difficult subjects. Jessica Sorensen handled the hard hitting situations within this book brilliantly and allowed the reader to connect with characters on a deep level.

This  wonderful heart shattering book follows the story of Lila and Ethan and the struggles they face everyday. Lila grew up in a rich home that hidden behind closed doors was far from the happy home it appeared to be. After the abrupt end to a relationship with a man she thought to love Lila turns to legal pills and one night stands to numb the pain and the feelings of worthlessness. Growing up Ethan’s life was the complete opposite of Lila’s. Barely scraping by on the little money they had and living with a dad who is battling addiction Ethan had little in common with Lila, except they both had previous relationships which ended badly. Ethan is determined not to follow in his fathers footsteps and not to fall in love. Can these two broken souls heal each other? This is a beautiful, intense, tear gerking novel. Many different issues are dealt with very well during this book, including Lila’s addiction to her legal pills. The feelings Lila shows throughout this book and her reactions to certain situations are incredibly believable. Nothing about this book is far fetched or impossible. I loved both Lila and Ethan’s background stories. Their backgrounds are completely different which makes their love even sweeter. As we watched Lila and Ethan’s love for each other grow as they help heal one another’s wounds we are praying they get their happy ending.

 

image

I believe Lila is a fantastic leading female, dispite her addiction she was a very strong person and extremely independent. It was easy for me as the reader to become attached to Lila and her story. She was a believable character who stayed true to herself throughout the book. Ethan was an incredibly sweet, protective, caring and don’t forget hot main male character. He stuck by Lila during the worst and was determined to help even when she was pushing him away. Ethan was also a character I connected with due to his actions and background story. I loved watching these characters grow together as their love blossomed. It was very easy to become emotionally connected to these brilliant characters.

Overall these beautifully broken characters drew me in as the grew as people whilst helping one another survive. Fans of Ella and Micha will love this book. Jessica Sorensen is a fantastic author and I can’t wait to see what she writes next. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes a bit of romance in their life.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s