Review Blog Hop: Switched by Cassie Mae

Posted on Updated on

untitled

Hey welcome to Switched by Cassie Mae blog hop. There are some great prizes to be on at the end of this post so be sure to check them out. I hope you find my review helpful and will go read this book and give it a try. A big thanks to Romance at Random for hosting this blog hop!

Genre:Contemporary romance

Audience: Leaning more towards New Adult but suitable for older Young Adult

Recieved: Thank you to Netgalley and Flirt publishing for providing me with a copy of this book

Goodreads blurb: Ever since high school, Kayla has been crazy for gorgeous football player Talon. But before she could muster the courage to tell him, he became a hot item with her beautiful BFF, Reagan. The only person who knows Kayla’s secret is Wesley, Talon’s best bud—and he’s got it bad for Reagan. Now they’re all in college together, hanging out 24/7. For Kayla, seeing the two lovebirds together is absolutely unbearable. So Kayla and Wesley hatch a plot to drive them apart before Talon has a chance to give Reagan the Christmas gift she’s been waiting for. Soon enough, the once happy couple is fighting. Reagan suddenly can’t get enough of Wesley’s goofy sense of humor, and Talon seems to be paying more attention to Kayla than a guy who’s “only a friend” ever should. But just when everything seems to be falling into place, Kayla and Wesley accidentally spend a night together and discover a hitch in their plan they never considered: that switching partners may not lead to a perfect ending after all.

My rating: 3.75/5 stars (couldn’t quite make it a 4 star)

photo

My review:

One of the most frustrating books I have ever read! I really wanted to enjoy this novel but a couple of things were a let down for me. At times this book was really funny which was one of the things that kept me reading despite some of the issues I had with this book. This book had a lot of potential I did like the plot it moved away slightly from the cliché love triangle which is often written about. Cassie Mae does know how to make something her own which was evident in this novel. The author is good at what she does which just got me even more annoyed as I wanted to like this book a lot. Although some aspects did lean a little towards the cliché side at times one of my favourite things about this book was its plot and it’s new slant on the normal love triangle.

Kayla has loved Talon from the moment she first met him but when he starts dating her more outgoing best friend there is nothing she can do. Talons best friend Wesley is in love with his best friends girlfriend and can’t get her out of his head no matter how bad he feels about it. Can these four friends all be with the one they love without someone getting hurt?  Kayla and Wesley team up to finally get those they love to notice them. As they carry out their plan they begin to discover what love really is and realise they may not love who they think they do. Although this book may sound confusing once you read everyone’s background stories this “love square” makes a lot more sense. I enjoyed the whole concept of a “love square” rather than a love triangle as it was more original. Although I liked the idea, at times I became incredibly frustrated with the way it was handled.  This book had so many good aspects I wanted to love it but the parts within it which annoyed me cancelled out some of the good parts. There were many funny moments in this novel which I found myself smiling like a lunatic at. The comedy moments and pure curiosity are what kept me reading this book. In a way I am glad i kept reading as the second half of the book is much better than the first in my opinion and the characters were much more likeable towards the end. There is a slight twist at the end of the book which kept the ending interesting and stopped it being overly predictable.

Characters where to begin! I think one of the main issues I had with this book was for the first quarter or so of the novel the main character Kayla annoyed me a lot. Although she did grow on me throughout the book in the beginning she came across as an extremely naive little girl. She came across younger than her age and at the start she should no remorse for what she was doing to her best friend. Luckily Wesley saved the day for me, he seemed to doubt their actions and actually showed some feelings of guilt. Despite Kayla’s actions at the start of the novel I learned to deal with her and with Wesley there most of the time the second half of the was great.

Overall this novel let me down a bit but I think I will go ahead and read another book by Cassie Mae as I would like to see what else she has written. If you can deal with the little frustrating things contained in this book you should give it a try and see if you like.

Giveaway Time!

Rafflecopter giveaway:

Sadly this giveaway is only open to US residents.

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/235bab26/

Blog Giveaway:

Also a randomly drawn commenter will be entered into a random draw and be in with the chance to win a review copy of Switched courtesy of the blog hop hosts!

Hop along!

Romance at Random Home post

My e-Literate Obsession

Nerd Alert Book Love

Miscellaneous Thoughts of a Bookaholic

Anna Loves and Breathes Books

The Lovely Books

The Book Hammock

Le book Squirrel

The Readers Realm

Raizza’s Book Blogging Adventure

Sweets Books

Tome Tender

Gigi’s Book Blog

Romance Rewind

Bonnie’s Book Blog

Madison Says

My Guilty Obsession

Book Chick

BookBacon

Books with Leti Del Mar

Ebook Escapes

Forever Me Romance

Reading and Things

Out of the Blue

Sofia Loves Books

Deluged with Books Café

One Girl Lost in Romance Books

Reading My Escape

Imagine a World

Pearls and Peacocks

Escape by Fiction

The Little Johanne Book World

Bookish Treasures

I Loves to Read

Words Feather

BS Book Reviewers

KimberlyFaye Reads

Penny Dreadful Books and Reviews

The Sea of Pages

Reads and Thoughts

Pimples, Popularity, and Protagonists

Miss Book Lovers

Robin Hall Writes

The Book Lovers Codex

Curliegurlie’s Random Musings

Broc’s Bookcase

In Vogue with Books

I’d So Rather Be Reading

Lives and Breathes Book Blog

Ari Reads

Leave a Reply

