Blog Tour: Drowning by Rachel Firasek

Posted on Updated on

image

Welcome to the blog tour for the new book Drowning. Included in this stop is a review, excerpt and a great giveaway. A huge thank you to Itching For Books for organising this tour.

Now on with the fun 🙂

 

image

Author: Rachel Firasek

Series: Tears of Sin (#1)

Genre: romance, contemporary

Audience: New Adult

Publication Date: 19th October 2013

Blurb: “I dare you.”

Those words would change adrenaline junkie, Alice Harrison’s life forever. She’s a party girl that doesn’t believe in love until she meets a man that only writes about it. Seth James escaped his overbearing father and moved into one of the James family’s vacant condos, hoping to create the music he loves in peace. But the fragile calm he’s envisioned shatters when a tiny woman with a world full of energy bounces out of the elevator and nearly takes him out. With the patience of a saint, Seth seeks the dark that keeps Alice from enjoying life. He challenges her to exorcise the demons in her past in order to discover the true meaning of love. But when the walls fall down, the hidden deceptions will bare the ugly truth about a woman drowning in sorrow and a man who may not know how to be her hero.

image

 

My Rating: 4.5/5 stars image

 

My Review:

Amazing! This is a heartbreaking book which keeps the reader hooked from start to finish. The author cleverly keeps the reader in the dark which allows them to stay up at night desperate to find out what will happen next. ‘Drowning’ is a dark, emotional and romantic book that keeps you on the edge of your seats. Rachel Firasek is a fantastic author who as created a brilliant book that keeps the reader interested and  determined to find out what will happen. Through her emotional writing and the gripping plot the author has written a novel which will stay with you long after you have finished.

Betrayals, heartbreak, torture and secrets are all Alice has ever known. She wears deep scars each with their own story on both the inside and outside. To protect herself she keeps everyone at a distance, until Seth comes along and turns her world upside down. But is loving someone always a good thing? This novel is full of raw emotions which allow the reader to become enthralled by this book. The author keeps the pace reasonably fast and even at times when it slowed down it simply allowed the reader to enjoy the characters they grow to love. Throughout her life Alice has had to deal with a lot of suffering and to add to it she carries around masses of guilt everyday. Alice cares for her blind sister Molly who after a life changing accident needs full time support. Due to her reckless behaviour Alice often blamed herself during the book when things went wrong including the accident which caused Molly to become blind. The only reason I could not give this brilliant book a full five stars is because when you compare Seth’s problems to the issues Alice faces his problems seem quite minor and easily fixable. Apart from this incredibly small thing I thought this was a fantastic book which contained great characters.

Although Rachel Firasek has created a brilliant plot the thing that made this book so enjoyable was the phenomenal characters she has developed. The two main characters are extremely well developed and the reader can’t help but become attached to them. These two broken people bring the book together and allow it to be an emotional roller coaster. This book is full of dark and pure emotions that draw the reader in and build up tension. Alice is a very strong character who has to deal with a lot during her lifetime. The author has made it incredibly easy for the reader to emotionally connect with both Alice and Seth. Alice and Seth are honest characters which makes them even more likeable. They both grow throughout the course of the novel and their relationship becomes stronger as the book goes on. Together they had to deal with many problems which arose during the novel. This brought them closer as the book progressed. The author has created memorable characters that stay with you long after you have turned the last page.

Overall this was a great book which had me gripped from start to finish. I can’t wait to see what Rachel Firasek writes next. I would recommend that lovers of romance give this book a try as it is really worth your time.

Excerpt:

A soft knock against my back drives home the point. I twirl and open the door before he disturbs Molly—or maybe because I’m not ready to share him with her yet. “What?”

He tucks a hand into the waistband of my shorts and hauls me into the hall, pulling my door shut behind me. “Where did you get that?” His gaze lingers on the small bump decorating my forehead.

I reach up and touch the sore knot. “Oh, I fell.”

“How?” He raises his free hand and traces the swelling.

I don’t even feel the careful prodding. No, my concentration is solely focused on the fingers tucked inside my shorts and only inches away from becoming way too familiar with me. “Um…I was doing yoga when you guys came down the hall.”

“And?” He tugs me closer. His thumb rakes a small path below my belly button.

Oh my. “Uh…I fell out of…of…my pose and banged my head on the floor.”

His eyes darken and those beautiful lips part. I want to snake my tongue across the bottom one to find out if it is as soft as it looks.

He winces and lowers his eyes to mine. “So this is my fault?”

I grab onto his wandering hand and pull it free of my shorts. If I didn’t, I’d be asking him for a wall orgasm in less than two minutes and random teasing and fleeing was a no go for me now. “No. It was an accident. Lighten up, G.”

“I don’t want to cause you pain.”

Wow, that feels like a loaded proclamation. “Okay. Well, keep the noise down, and we should be good.”

He drops the hand that had been rubbing away my bruise. Funny, I’d totally forgotten it. “I don’t want to cause you pain. It’s a personal thing.” A deep shudder races over him, and for some reason, I don’t think he is with me anymore.

“You didn’t. I’m fine.” I lift a hand and cup the side of his face, bringing his gaze to mine. It is the gentlest moment I’ve ever had with a man, and we’ve just met. “I’m not sure what this is, but I think I should go inside.”

He glances down the corridor, takes a deep breath, and nods. “Yes, you should.”

“Go play with your friends. Be men or whatever that means, and I’ll go back to my yoga.” I was going to need it after this.

He groans and drops his head back, his hint of an Adam’s Apple bobbing down the column of his neck, begging for my tongue to taste him there. “Did you have to bring that back to mind?”

I grin. “What? Me all hot and sweaty in contorted positions? Do you like that?”

He groans, and one side of his mouth slants up. “I have things to do and don’t need no-named neighbors distracting me.”

Get to know the author:

image

Find her on Facebook and on her website

Rachel Firasek spends her days daydreaming of stories and her nights putting the ideas to ink. She has spent a dull life following the rules, meeting deadlines, and toeing the line, but in her made up worlds, she can let the wild side loose. Her wonderful husband and three children support her love of the written word and only ask for the occasional American Idol or Swamp People quality hour.

She has a philosophy about love. It must devastate or it isn’t truly worth loving. She hopes that you all find your devastating love and cling to it with all your heart!

image

 

You now have the chance to win a great giveaway. To enter simply click on the link below. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter Giveaway

 

 

Thank you for stopping by and be sure to check this book out as it is a fantastic read 🙂

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Drowning by Rachel Firasek

    Shane Morgan said:
    March 17, 2014 at 4:58 pm

    Good review and excerpt. Thanks for participating!

      vampire304 responded:
      March 17, 2014 at 5:00 pm

      No problem I really enjoyed the book 🙂

Leave a Reply

