Series Review: Infinity + Infinity Unleashed

Posted on

image

Author: Sedona Venez

Series: Valkyries: Soaring Raven (#1)

Genre: paranormal, romance

Audience: New Adult

Publication Date:  15th January 2013

Received: Thank you to Xpresso Book Tours for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Blurb:

The first moment I saw Boulder… his helmet-covered head snapped in my direction and stared.

My eyes greedily took in the hardness of his thighs encased in dark jeans, his kickass motorcycle boots, and leather jacket. I licked my bottom lip, stifling the crazy urge to leap out of the car and climb him like a tree while burying my nose into the crook of his neck like a possessed woman.

I needed to see his face, and as if answering my request, he pulled off his helmet impatiently, and literally, something clicked in my head as his warm apple-green eyes locked onto me and he muttered, “All mine.”

Well, that’s what I imagined he was saying as his lips moved silently. He could have been whispering, “Stalker girl,” but hey, I was willing to stalk him into submission.

**Mature Content Warning** 18+ for language, and adult situations.

 

image

My Rating: 3/5 stars

image

My Review:

I really wanted to enjoy this book but there were a couple of things that let me down. The blurb of this book left me desperate to read this novel and although I did enjoy this book some things ruined it for me. Despite the little things I did enjoy this book as a whole. I really wanted to enjoy this novel but it seemed to be lacking in certain places. The underlying tension and the secrets that are kept during this book draws the reader in. The pace of this novel was very mixed there were points in the book were the paced was extremely fast and interesting and then there were other parts were everything slowed down. Sedona Venez was good at captivating her readers despite the problems they had with the book they still wanted to finish it to see what will happen to the characters. The author has created an original plot with a unique paranormal world in the centre of it.

Infinity is a superstar and after battling with her demons and isolating herself from the world she is back and ready to stand up for what she believes in. With her best friends and her family by her side she is ready to fight back but what will it cost her. Although there were many aspects of this book which drew me in there were a few issues I had with this novel. The main problem I had with this book was the many pointless conversations which took place. During this book there were main conversations between characters that had no point to them and did not move the story along, in fact they slowed the pace of the book down. An example of this is a conversation between Infinity, Zoe and Diego which took place in a car and last nearly half of a chapter. Throughout the whole exchange all they spoke about was how good people looked and sex which did not move the storyline on at all. I could not see the point of the conversation as I did not even feel as if I knew the characters better after it was over. Throughout the duration of this book the reader is constantly left feeling as if they have missed something. Despite all the problems I had with this novel there were parts that I did enjoy hence the in between rating. The author has given her readers a unique paranormal world which has them hooked from the beginning and makes this book worth reading. Sedona Venez also created a group of original and unforgettable characters.

Infinity is a character who throughout the course of the book brought out mixed feelings from the reader. She often comes across as a self-centred woman who only thinks of herself which made it difficult for the reader to connect with her. Many of the characters in this book made it very difficult for the reader to connect with them due to there often selfish actions. The one character who could have saved this novel was Boulder but unlike in most Paranormal Romances the leading male was not introduced until over half way through the book. This allowed the reader barely anytime to get to understand him as a character and witness his relationship with Infinity develop. There were many parts of this book which left the reader incredibly frustrated but as a whole this first instalment in the Valkyries: Soaring Ravens series left the reader interested and wanting to find out what will happen next.

Overall I really wanted to enjoy this book but a couple of things really let me down. Despite these small things Sedona Venez is a great writer who has written the perfect start to a series which leaves the reader desperate to read more. I would recommend lovers of paranormal romances give this book a try as it is worth the read.

Buying Links:

If you like the sound of this book them you can find the buying links below:

Amazon

Amazon UK

Barnes and Noble

 

 

image

Author: Sedona Venez

Series: Valkyries: Soaring Ravens (#2)

Genre: paranormal, romance

Audience: New Adult

Publication Date: 10th December 2013

Received: Once again a huge thank you to Xpresso Book Tours for providing me with a copy of this book.

Blurb:

A new adult story of Betrayal. Sex. Addiction. Love. And Power…

Mason’s diabolical plan had actually worked.

In a matter of minutes he had kidnapped me, stripping me of everything…money, family, and freedom. It was humbling, depressing, and damn infuriating but I refuse to go down without a fight. I refuse to be defeated.

Boulder will find me. I didn’t know how, but I felt it deep in my soul.

Boulder…the one man that made my body quake with just one look. It was madness. There was so much I didn’t know about him. For that matter, there was so much that he didn’t know about me…like the evil darkness lurking inside me, waiting to be unleashed.

Could he accept me without judging?

That’s where most men failed. Accepting the real me. But after years of hardening my heart, and sealing it behind a steel cage, I was ready to give myself to him freely. Knowing, that he planned to take everything I offered with both hands, until all I thought of…and wanted…was him…
*** This is a new adult paranormal novel and contains sexual content and graphic language. It is not intended for young adult readers. ***

 

image

My Rating: 4/5 stars

image

My Review:

Sedona Venez gets better and better the more she writes. I enjoyed this book a lot more than the first one and I felt myself being pulled into Infinity’s world. The reader feels as if they understand what is going on more as we are told more background information. The plot was built up slowly throughout the book which left the reader wondering and wanting to find out more. Sedona Venez has given her readers a fantastic book which keeps them interested throughout. She has carried on her brilliant, unique plot from the first instalment and has kept the readers attention.

Infinity has been kidnapped by one of the few people she thought she could trust. With blanks in her memory and nearly no way to escape Infinity has few options left. The author created a brilliant underlying tension throughout this novel which left the reader desperate for more. The reader is also kept in the dark as much as Infinity at certain points of the book which allowed the reader to feel as if they were experiencing it right along side her. Sedona Venez kept her reader captivated and left them sitting up late at night desperate to find out what will happen next. The brilliant ending of this book left the reader greatly anticipating the next instalment in the series. The author left just enough mystery and secrets still unanswered at the end of the novel the leave the reader desperate for more.

We finally get to see Infinity and Boulder together during this book and it allowed the reader to connect with both of these fantastic characters. Infinity did not come across as self-centred in this book as  in the first one. She thought about other people which was evident when she was with Boulder and all that mattered to her was his safety. The author allowed her readers to connect with her characters due to the strong love they can clearly see between the two main characters.

Overall this was a brilliant sequel which left me impatiently waiting for more. The cliffhanger at the end leaves the reader desperate for more. I would definitely recommend readers who like paranormal romances give this series a chance because it is a unique series that leaves you wanting more.

 

Buying Links:

If you like the sound of this book then you can find the buying links below:

Amazon

Amazon UK

Barnes and Noble

 

 

Thank you for stopping by and be sure to consider reading this series 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

